Silos in Drug Development

The Next Element

I was in Chicago last month for the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) annual meeting where as you would expect the topic of conversation was cancer at every turn. While it is generally easy to get wrapped up in these conversations, this year was different. Just a couple of weeks before the meeting, I lost someone very special to me who had been undergoing treatment for cancer. 

While some people come to drug development searching for a solution for someone they care about, my journey had been more about intellectual curiosity than passion. In my training as a chemist, my emotions generally involved frustration with reactions that wouldn’t work or elation when a multi-step synthesis resulted in the molecule I was trying to make. When I moved away from the bench, I took on the alternate responsibilities and tasks associated with clinical development, which eventually included reviewing case report…

View original post 416 more words

Leave a Reply

